Book Reviews

“Until the Next Time” by Kevin Fox

[Link to Book]

Note: I originally posted this on Goodreads.com

“Fiction is just the lie made up to reveal the greater truth.” ~
(A variation of one of my favorite Stephen King quotes, “Fiction is the truth inside the lie.”)

Until the Next Time, if you read it correctly, is guaranteed to leave you thinking. It’s a story about discovering yourself and your past, in ways not thought of by the average person. As a person who has always been fascinated by the idea of reincarnation, and also happened to be raised Catholic, I thoroughly enjoyed the ideas presented in this novel. 

I loved the tie-in of Catholicism and reincarnation. I’ll never be able to look at the Parable of the Prodigal Son and Joseph and His Coats of Many Colors the same way again. Fox’s analogies actually make perfect sense. 

This may be just a fictional story, but there is so much truth to it as well. I don’t have an ounce of Irish in me, and I’m not familiar with the culture. I even looked up the term “eejit” to see if it was actually something used by the Irish culture or if it was a term Kevin Fox had made up himself. Low and behold, Urban Dictionary enlightened me that it’s the Irish term for “idiot.” 

Often times it’s difficult for me to get into a book if I’m not familiar with the setting or culture, though that wasn’t the case with this book. It’s easy to fall into, and I found myself fascinated with the Irish culture. I’m now curious and would like to learn more, and possibly visit Ireland sometime. The author’s descriptions of Ireland were captivating. 

I think this would be a good book for a college cultures class to read or even a philosophy or psychology class. Kevin makes reference to psychiatrist, Ian Stevenson, who’s known for his reincarnation research. Although this book is fiction, there is truth within the fiction. As one of the common themes of the book is to reveal the truth behind the fiction. 

Although I did love this book, I’m giving it a 4 star rating because there were some minor issues. My biggest problem, being the genealogy obsessed person that I am, was keeping track of who was related to who, and how all the characters were connected. I think a family tree would have been helpful, possibly in the back of the book. Later in the book, Sean’s and Michael’s stories begin to begin to blend together, which I know is intentional and truly artistic, and there were times I couldn’t remember if I was reading Sean’s point of view or Michael’s point of view. (Kate and Anne were the main indicators of whose point of view it was). 

There were also some mechanical mistakes that an editor should have caught. On page 87, “Next you’ll be tellin’ me your not a Corrigan” should be “Next you’ll be tellin’ me you’re not a Corrigan.” The author often uses “yer” in place of your/you’re to demonstrate the Irish accent, so I can understand if he’d meant “yer”, but your is grammatically incorrect.

On page 143, Anne says, “I mean its kind of flatt’rin” should be “I mean it’s kind of flatt’rin.” 

Also, it’s mentioned that Sean’s birthday is July 5, 1976 on page 24. That would make him only 20 in 1996, and it was supposedly his 21st birthday.

Overall, a very nice read, and I would definitely be first in line at a movie theater if this story is brought to the big screens. I also didn’t see the ending coming, though it makes sense now, looking back.

Leave a Reply

