Writing

Writing: The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Done?

Writing: It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

Sometimes the words just don’t flow. Sometimes I’m stuck trying to find the appropriate adjective or verb that fits the message I’m trying to convey. It’s not easy being a writer.

Yes, writing is definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

But it’s also the most exciting thing I’ve ever done. You never know where you’re going to end up. Writing is mysterious. It’s enchanting. It illuminates the greater truth. Nobody knows where you’re going to end, not even you. Most times, I’ll get an idea, and I just start writing to see where it takes me. My fingers seem to have a mind of their own. Sometimes I think I’m going to end up in one place, but I end up in a totally different place.

I get to decide the ending, but my fingers sometimes get ahead of my brain. Writing is like reading a book from start to finish. Though, as the writer, you get to know the ending before everyone else, and you get to change it if you’re not satisfied with it. No other reader has that kind of control.

Writing is serious business. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

Truth time: The hardest things in life are the most rewarding.

Leave a Reply

