My Life

The Mysterious Crow

download It’s a cold and dreary day in the middle of December, following a warm rainy day. A flock of gigantic, fat crows swarm my apartment parking lot this morning. Naturally, they swarm near the dumpsters, scrounging for food. I know I spotted one nibbling on a banana peel.

“What does this mean?” I asked myself. I’m big on finding symbolism in all walks of life. I recalled an episode of Ghost Whisperer that recounted the five ‘signs’ of death (one being the death of a dove). Of course, I couldn’t remember the specific signs, or the specific bird that was involved. I had to search that.

So, what do crows symbolize? I looked that up, too, and I came across this: “The crow is a spirit animal associated with life mysteries and magic.  The power of this bird as totem and spirit guide is provide insight and means of supporting intentions. Sign of luck, it is also associated with the archetype of the trickster; be aware of deceiving appearances.  If the crow has chosen you as your spirit or totem animal, it supports you in developing the power of sight, transformation, and connection with life’s magic.” (source x)

I’ve found an entire new perspective on this bird, because of course I’d always thought it was a symbol of death. Life, as I’m discovering, really and truly is all about perspective. Birds, in general, fascinate me, a trait I get that from my grandmother.

The crow, in particular, dazzles me. It’s mysterious. It appears at random, like magic. It’s there in the morning and then it’s gone later when I come home.

Crows are known to build their nests in very tall trees. Doing so, they can get a better vision or perspective on the rest of their surroundings. By affinity with this trait, those who have the crow as a spirit animal or totem will enjoy a position from where they can see things from a higher perspective.

Perspective.  It’s key.  In order to move forward in life, you need to see all pieces of the puzzle. That’s what I’m working on now. Perhaps the crow is my spirit animal.  Only time will reveal that for certain, though.

It’s important to remember that a spirit animal cannot be chosen. It “chooses” you. (source x)


		
Leave a Reply

