Book Reviews · Controversial

Sing You Home || Book Review

It’s hard to hate a Jodi Picoult character. I’ve read a number of her books now, and I can’t recall once hating a character she’s written, even in a book as controversial as this one. One of Jodi Picoult’s prime talents is the ability to present controversial issues without upsetting her readers. She always grasps all sides of a subject, without appearing biased or unruly. Very few writers share her talent, and I admire her for it.

I started reading Sing You Home the day before the Supreme Court ruled same-sex marriage to be legal in all 50 states, so I’d say I picked the perfect time to read this book. I wasn’t actively following gay rights in the media before, so it’s a pure coincidence that I happened to pick up Sing You Home at the library when I did. I’m glad I did.

It’s not something I’m proud of, but it’s true: I get angry easily, so as I was reading Sing You Home, I was also reading my Facebook feed, which happens to be full of conservatives. I was disheartened by the bitter, judgmental posts I was reading, which Jodi accurately portrayed in Sing You Home. I struggled to understand how people could be so judgmental and hurtful of other human beings. I mean, hello, none of us are God. It’s not our place to decide how others should or should not live their lives, is it? It’s not our place to tell someone who to love.

I still feel that way, but I also feel like I have a better understanding of the opposing viewpoint; although there’s no excuse for hatred. I now understand why some groups of people feel the way they do.  I may not agree with their reasons, but the fact that I feel like I understand them just shows how great of a writer Jodi truly is.

Although I say I can’t hate a Jodi Picoult character, because they’re all so well developed, I do think Pastor Clive deserve a good slap on the face, especially with how he attempted to destroy another’s career because of who they loved. It’s insane how someone can say they have no issues with gays and lesbians, then ahead and doe that. A little contradicting, no?

Every time I read a Jodi Picoult book, I feel like I’ve learned something new. I feel inspired. It’s why I’ll keep reading her books until I have no more to read. Then I’ll probably start re-reading them.

This book also comes with a CD, which Jodi and her friend produced. I loved the music component. I’d actually never heard of music therapy until I started working at my current job. I think it’s a great idea; I’m now encouraging my little sister to go into music therapy, because I think she’d be great at it. She’s very intuitive when it comes to music.

“The music we listen to might not define who we are. But it’s a damn good start.” – Sing You Home

Leave a Reply

