Controversial

My Opinion on Opinions

It wasn’t too long ago I was just a kid. I was that kid who didn’t want to break the rules because I might get in trouble. My worst fear was getting sent to the principal’s office. So, I rarely questioned authority. I relied on adults to have the answers to everything, and I really didn’t question their word. And when I did, I would get in trouble.

Now, as an adult, I’ve learned – low and behold – adults don’t have all the answers. Their word isn’t always right. You really can’t trust anyone’s word. While it’s still seen as unprofessional to question your superiors’ words, it’s important to do so! The reality is, as human beings, we do the best we can. We rely on information we’ve been given to succeed. And sometimes, what we’re told isn’t always right. It only takes one person to relay misinformation for the wrong message to get out. Word of mouth can be useful, but it can also be deadly.

I used to be Switzerland – unbiased – and I simply didn’t care what was happening in the world around me. I woke up, I went to school or work, and I went home. Then I realized: being unbiased has gotten me nowhere in life. It’s simply allowed people to take advantage of me. So, it’s important to form a solid opinion. It’s important to do research and allow yourself to develop an informed opinion, and it’s important to stay true to your views. However, with that said, it’s important to keep an open mind. Technically, there are no wrong opinions. There are uneducated opinions. There are ill-researched opinions, but there are not “wrong” opinions.

An opinion is not fact, though, and we’re all entitled to have them. In fact, it’s good to have opinions. It’s healthy to discuss our opinions openly with others, and talking to others with different opinions can broaden our perspective of the world. It’s important to be aware of and open to other people’s viewpoints.

By being open-minded, you’ll acquire new perspectives of the world around you, and it’s always great to get a new perspective.

A new perspective can make all the difference.

 

Leave a Reply

