Sal Stories

The Bathroom Double Standard || A Sal Story

We all poop. It’s one of the few daily routine rituals that cats and humans share in common.

So, there I am, going about my morning routine.  I usually like to get in and out of the bathroom as quickly and efficiently as possible, since I’m a millennial and I want everything right now. I’m not the kind of girl who spends five hours in the bathroom. I was raised in a family of predominately women. My stepfather takes more time in the bathroom than all of us girls combined.

Nine times out of ten, Sal follows me into the bathroom. I don’t mind that he does, since I’d rather he be where I can see him than in other parts of my apartment wreaking havoc.

I just think it’s funny because…

When I’m in the the bathroom, Sal does anything and everything to get my attention. He’ll jump in the bathtub and knock my shampoo/conditioner bottles down. He’ll try to get in my bathroom cabinet. He’ll rub up against me and sometimes goes as far as jumping on my lap.

Now, what happens if I even look at him while he’s in his litter pan?

*EVIL CAT STARE OF DEATH* “EXCUSE YOU, WHY ARE YOU LOOKING AT ME?!?!?! I’M GOING POOP HERE!!!” 

Or when I touch him when he’s cleaning himself?

*EVIL CAT STARE OF DEATH* “EXCUSE YOU, WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?!?! I’M CLEANING OFF ALL THE DIRT YOUR HANDS LEFT ON ME WHEN YOU PET ME!!!!” 

Yep.  We definitely have a double standard going on here, don’t we?

It’s a catty life.

At least he’s cute, right?

Leave a Reply

