My Life

Old hobbies die hard 

Why did I join a Thursday night bowling league? I have two reasons. 

1. I wanted to get out of the house specifically on Thursday evening. I’m still reeling from McDreamy’s death. Laugh all you want, but I’ve sworn to myself I will never watch a Shonda Rhimes show again (and the reasons go much deeper than McDreamy dying, but that’s a story for another post).

2. It’s familiar territory. I practically grew up in a bowling alley, and my mom bowled women’s league on Thursday night, so every night I would go to the bowling to watch her bowl. I remember my sister being little enough to go to the bowling daycare while I sat behind my mom’s lane and watched. Sometimes I’d do homework or read a book. Bottom line, I spent every Thursday night in a bowling alley. 

I’ve always been worried about following in my mother’s footsteps. In many ways I have. Bowling is a tradition that’s been part of my family for generations. My grandparents bowled as well. 

When I was a kid, I took it too serious. I was competitive and wanted to be the best. It’s not about being the best anymore for me. It’s about getting out of the house and doing something.

I could go out drinking or partying, but that’s not me. It’s not who I am.

A bowler is who I am.  

   

Leave a Reply

