Book Reviews · My Life · Writing

What is your soul’s purpose?

I recently read 17 Lies & The Truth That Will Set You Free by Steve Chandler, and at the end of the book he points out that our purpose in life is to find our soul’s purpose. What makes you giddy? What makes your spine tingle?

For me, it’s always been writing. It’s been writing since I was eight years old. Reading does too. Some television shows have given me that feeling too.

I want to write, it’s all I want to do.

Yet, I rarely have the stamina to write due to my full-time job.

I write on weekends, but I’ve been writing fan fiction for the last five years. I am almost finished writing my third solo mega fic, and I’ll then be working toward completing my fourth. These stories have been on-going for around two years, and it’s time I put them to bed. I’m also co-writing a trilogy with my friend in Italy. We’re writing the second story in the trilogy right now. Co-writing allows me to tackle a major story but also gives me time to work on my own projects while I wait for my co-writer to finish her part. Co-writing has been fun, and I’ve learned a lot from it.

I also really love editing. In high school and college, many of my peers asked me to review their papers because they knew I would tear their work apart. Of course, there were a few who wouldn’t let me review their work, because they knew I would tear it apart. I also tutored writing in college. Writing classes were my favorite to tutor.

Words and sentence structure fascinate me. However, sometimes I feel like I’m not good enough. Like I’ll never be good enough, no matter what effort I put forth. My school teachers always praised me, but I’m not sure if I have what it takes to become a full-time writer or editor.

If I’m not supposed to work with words,  what is my soul’s purpose? To be a couch potato?

Leave a Reply

