My Life

What taste will I acquire next?

I wrote this post in January, discussing how it’s possible to acquire any taste. “I don’t drink coffee,” I wrote as I gushed about my then-newfound tea love.

Well, guess what? During 2015, I acquired a taste for coffee.

I never thought I would become a coffee drinker. My mom doesn’t drink coffee, and my step-father only drinks it black, so I wasn’t exposed to good tasting coffee as a kid. I had tried coffee a few times, because I firmly believe in trying everything at least once.

I had my first latte last year when I met up with an acquaintance at Starbucks, and I didn’t want to seem weird. Everyone drinks coffee, right? I forced myself to drink the whole cup. After, I was jittery and my throat hurt. I thought I’d decided once and for all that I would never be a coffee drinker.

Flash forward to summer 2015.

My love for Starbucks didn’t begin with coffee. It was born when I saw the advertisements for the Mango Tea. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m obsessed with all things mango. I knew I had to try it.
I fell hard and fast. I had discovered a new favorite beverage.

Then, one day, I decided to try something different. It was a hot summer day, so I ordered a caramel frappucino.

My neurons exploded. Apparently caramel frappuccinos are extremely high in caffeine. My brain had seriously never been happier. Suddenly, I realized that it wasn’t about the taste. Taste was irrelevant to the equation. What was important was how I felt, and I felt pretty darn great. I’d never been more alert in my life! And I wasn’t just jittery; I was able to focus at work better than ever before.

My coffee addiction started with frozen coffee. Starbucks was a hit, but I wasn’t too thrilled about the price, so I decided to try frappés at other places that sold coffee. I tried them at QuikTrip, Dunkin’ Donuts, and McDonalds. Dunkin’ Donuts has the cheapest frozen coffee, but it’s also gross. QT was okay, but McDonalds…now, McDonalds frappés are delicious, so I began alternating between McDonalds and Starbucks.

Summer has come to an end, and it’s getting colder outside, so I’ve begun experimenting with hot coffee. I actually like McDonalds hot coffee better than Starbucks.

The best coffee I’ve ever tasted was actually at a hospital in my hometown when I visited my grandmother over Labor Day weekend.

I also learned how to use the coffee maker at work. I’d actually never used one before. Unfortunately, I don’t have one at my apartment right now, but it’s on my Christmas list.

Oh, Coffee, why didn’t I discover you sooner?

Here’s the mind boggling question: What taste will I acquire in 2016? Beer? I’m still not sold on that one, but anything is possible now that I’m a coffee drinker.

IMG_1598

Leave a Reply

