Controversial · My Life

Easy Teachers — AKA Education Thieves

When I was in school, I was on a mission and one mission alone: To get straight A’s. I didn’t care how I got that A, I just wanted a big, fat shiny A.  Also, I preferred “easy A’s” because I didn’t want to work too hard, because I struggled with test anxiety and any strenuous efforts I might have to exert to get an A made me uncomfortable.

I had a college professor who regularly mused that B-students were actually learning more than A-students. Of course I rolled my eyes at him at the time. It wasn’t until after college that I really realized what he was saying.

I got a lot of A’s during my educational career, but it’s not the A-classes I remember. It’s the classes I received B’s I remember most. Those are the ones that stand out, because they’re the ones I had to work my ass off during.There are a few classes that I got low A’s in that stick out to me, but any of the classes that I got high A’s (above 97%) don’t stand out to me at all. Guess why? Because those were the easy teachers who robbed my education.

The B’s I got, I worked hard to get. I desperately wanted A’s in all my classes, but there were some classes that, no matter how much effort I exerted, I just couldn’t.

The class that will always stand out to me the most in college was my business video class, which was, believe it or not, taught by the professor I mentioned above. Our assignment for the class was basically one big group project, where we had to collaborate to put together a video. Our video was supposed to be a news cast about our college, and over all, the project was a disaster. I spent at least twelve to fifteen hours a week in the classroom that semester, while the majority of my group members did not exert the same amount of effort.

Group communication was ineffective, and overall, the project was just a horrendous mess. To our disadvantage, we took a small group communication class the following semester, which may have helped us slightly. We were able to use this class as an example of “bad group communication” multiple times during our small group communication class, which most of us took the following semester with the same professor.

I learned so much from that business video class, and that’s more important than any A on my transcript.

I firmly believe now that B-students learn more than A-students. It’s not all about the letter grade, as scholarships, colleges, and even some employers make it about. How much a student knows shouldn’t be measured by a test. Look at me. I did well in school, but sometimes, I think that’s all I was good at. I was a good student, although I was always stressed out about getting good grades. How does having more A’s than B’s on my transcript help me in the real world?

I know I have above average writing and editing skills, although I also know I have plenty of room to improve. I’m not an expert, but I’ve been helping others write since I was in middle school. I know how to put words into sentences, but that might be about all I know. My mouth and my brain, for instance, rarely align. Employers want people who can talk and write.

I obtained A’s in my speech classes, and I’m terrible at public speaking. I got A’s in my marketing and advertising classes, but do you think I remember much about the topics? Hardly.

The point? Transcripts aren’t an accurate reflection of a person’s abilities, and I wasted too much time caring about getting A’s. My scholarship required me to maintain a 3.5 GPA, so I had to get A’s.

Are scholarship GPA requirements taking away the meaning of education?

Leave a Reply

