My Life

Where is the TIME?!

I spend eight hours a day sitting at a desk — one-third of my day — and I spend six to eight hours sleeping, depending on the night. Let’s just assume I sleep eight hours on most nights. I enjoy sleep, for I consider my dreams more entertaining than most movies. That leaves me with eight hours. Two of those hours are spent getting ready in the morning and driving, so I’m left with six hours remaining. Six hours to do what?

  1. Write.
  2. Read.
  3. Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest shows. (Six hours isn’t even half of a season of House of Cards or Orange is the New Black.)
  4. Volunteer.
  5. Exercise. (I can’t believe I forgot this one in my first draft of this post. It’s the most important one!)
  6. Additional activities, like bowling.
  7. Clean my apartment (which is always put on the back burner, as you can tell if you look at my place).
  8. Schedule and go to appointments, like the physical I haven’t had in almost three years. I hate doctors, but that’s a story for another post.

Six hours is not enough to do everything I want to do. On Thursday evenings I go bowling from six to nine, and I usually end up staying up later than other nights, so I can write, watch a couple episodes on Netflix, or read. Occasionally I’ll do dishes or clean up around the house, if the mood strikes (which isn’t often).

I’ve left something out of the equation: The amount of time I spend scrolling through Facebook and Twitter. It doesn’t fit into the equation, period, but I do it. I do it for hours and hours. And WHY? I don’t know why, but I know it’s a complete waste of time. I don’t have time for social media. I would happily deactivate every last one of my social media accounts if being up to date on current social media weren’t part of my occupation.

Sometimes I wish I didn’t have a smartphone. It’s too easy to pick up and start mindlessly scrolling through every app on my phone. At the same time, it’s nice to be able to connect with people at my fingertips, and I enjoy all of the extra features, like my relaxation, calorie counter, and period tracker apps.

If only I could find a happy medium. I feel bad when I don’t immediately respond to messages, because I know what it feels like to feel like I’m being ignored. Technology is the devil. It’s the biggest time sucker, and it makes us feel like we have to be connected at all times.

I want my friends and family to know that if I stop replying immediately to their messages, it’s not them. I just need time for me. I need time to do what I need to do, and  I can’t accomplish everything I need and want to do if I’m constantly glued to a screen. I need more time, and the only way I can effectively make use of my time is to disconnect.

Leave a Reply

